Chazen Museum of Art


A concert by Wen-Lei Gu and Catherine Kautsky

Listen to the concert streamed live at 12:30 pm Sunday, September 3, 2017.


~ Program ~
The Complete Brahms Sonatas for Violin and Piano
Wen-Lei Gu, Violin
Catherine Kautsky, Piano

Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano in G Major, Op. 78                           Johannes Brahms
   Vivace ma non troppo                                                                        (1833-1897)
   Allegro molto moderato
Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano in A Major, Op. 100
   Allegro amabile
   Andante tranquillo--Vivace-Andante--Vivace di più—Andante--Vivace
   Allegretto grazioso (quasi Andante)

 Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Piano in D Minor, Op. 108
   Un poco presto e con sentimento
   Presto agitato

The concert will be broadcast live over the Internet in cooperation with Audio for the Arts. The concert is free and open to the public; Chazen Museum of Art members may call 608-263-2246 to reserve seating.

Sunday Afternoon Live at the Chazen is a monthly music concert performed in the museum's Brittingham Gallery III on the first Sunday of every month (except January). Performances begin at 12:30. The gallery seats approximately 100 people; admission is free and first-come, first-served. Please note that Gallery III and the adjacent Gallery II are closed on Sunday before the performances for setup and rehearsal.

The eleven concerts will be streamed live on the Internet. During the concert intermissions, the Chazen director will engage a visiting artist or curator in a conversation about an art display in the museum. These conversations, however, will only be accessible on the Internet.

  Sunday Afternoon Live at the Chazen

Chazen Museum of Art

Visit us on the University of Wisconsin–Madison Campus

Chazen Museum of Art, 750 University Ave., Madison, WI

© 2011 - 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System. All rights reserved.